CD: Angel – Celebrating the music of Astor Piazzolla – Alberti Brass


In stock


Angel – Alberti Brass

Piazzolla single-handedly reinvented the tango style. His music fuses together the sounds playing in Argentinian salons in the 20s and 30s with Bartokian harmonies. The result was revolutionary – an individual musical language that engages both the heart and the mind. Many types of ensemble have tackled the music of Piazzolla, such is its appeal to instrumentalists.
Here, in masterful arrangements by John Hutchinson, Piazzolla’s strident harmonies and heart-felt melodies are brought vividly to life in the sound of brass. Alberti Brass, widely known for its virtuosic performance style, has endowed these enduring works with a new voice. They are joined on this disc by guitar in truly unique interpretations of the music of Piazzolla.
Classical Music Magazine ‘RECORDING OF THE MONTH’ – “It has not been a great month for smiles, but then along came this brass quintet joined by Huw Davies in John Hutchinson’s free-ranging arrangement of the tangos of Astor Piazzolla. The six players seize the opportunity to flaunt formidable virtuosity – a joy to hear and foot-tap to.”
Brass Band World – “From the outset, this recording oozes quality. From the astute and masterful arrangements of Manchester-based composer and arranger John Hutchinson, through to the entire ensemble’s superb intonation, this CD sparkles. Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla is credited with the marrying of the Tango to a wide range of Western musical elements, including extended harmonies and dissonance. Tackling his music is always challenging – it takes a technically virtuosic performer to deliver the style with the correct balance of reflective emotion and relentless, strident confidence. Alberti Brass has cracked it though: through tidy rhythmic passages and wonderfully-balanced dissonant harmonies, it doesn’t miss a beat.”
Track Listing:
1. Libertango
2. Introduction del Angel
3. Tango del Angel
4. Milonga del Angel
5. La Muerte del Angel
6. Resurreccion del Angel
7. Loving (from ‘Five Tango Sensations’)
8. Fear (from ‘Five Tango Sensations’)
9. Adios Nonino
10. Oblivion
11. BONUS TRACK La Cumparsita